The Montessori environment supports the sensitive period of language through the use of not only the Language materials, but also the materials in Practical Life, Sensorial, and Cultural areas.

The language materials help the child to develop literacy skills.

The three stages of language development that Maria Montessori identified are:

Stage 1:  Pre-reading and Pre-writing

  • Vocabulary
  • Visual perception
  • Phonics
  • Sensorial writing

Stage 2:  Developmental Reading and Writing

  • Reading program
  • Writing
  • Introduction to Grammar

Stage 3:  Reading and Writing as a Tool

  • Fact finding
  • Grammar and word study
  • Formal writing